Skip to content

Persimmon Pudding

January 4, 2010

Another bit of persimmon holiday goodness –

My mom whipped this one out for the holidays and I topped it off with a persimmon drizzle, which, (so much for my attempts at culinary artistry) is that orange stuff that looks like it was squeezed out of a ketchup bottle.

Nonetheless, it was a recipe worth making again. I especially like the puree topping; it helps the persimmon flavor to come out. The mild sweetness otherwise gets lost in most baked goods I’ve tried. If you aren’t familiar with traditional persimmon pudding, its a cake-y moist bread pudding.

My favorite persimmon pudding recipe comes from the book Local Flavors, Cooking and Eating from America’s Farmer’s Markets, by Deborah Madison. I adore this cookbook. I read it after Christmas dinner ( Christmas dinner = stuffed) and the recipes still made me hungry. She also includes bits of produce buying wisdom and technical culinary advice. I found myself reading every word, instead of just skimming to look at pictures. Very rare in a cookbook.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nila Rinehart permalink
    January 4, 2010 3:54 am

    Gorgeous photography. . . I love bread pudding. . . wish I had persimmons!

Leave a Reply

