Skip to content

Gluten Free Baking

December 5, 2009

Kids sure love to mimic what adults do. We’ve been baking a lot these days (tis the season! See more on our gluten free pancakes below) and my girl always wants real food to use in her little kitchen. She pretends to bake with flour and water. Yes. Paste. Oh so messy when it dries on, but oh so fun. I consider it well worth the mess for the quiet time it affords me, and the tactile experience B gets out of it.

(Gluten free persimmon/pear Muffins)

We aren’t gluten free, but have a lot of friends who are, so I’ve been fiddling around with some gluten free recipes for when we have folks over, and just for variety too.

For recipes, I like Elanas Pantry, as well as Mark’s Daily Apple.

The persimmon/pear muffins were ok, though I wasn’t happy with the texture, so I’m still looking for a good muffin recipe.

The biggest success so far was the Coconut Flour Pancakes. They rose just like normal pancakes, and the coconut flour and coconut milk added a richness. They are lacking the sour notes you achieve with buttermilk or sourdough, but the natural sweetness was a hit with our bread-addicted toddler and contained no white flour, so I consider this recipe a winner. We  like to top them with homemade yogurt or cream cheese and cranberry sauce, and sprinkle on some toasted nuts or shredded coconut.

This recipe initially came from Mark’s Daily Apple:

Ingredients:
4 eggs
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1 pinch nutmeg
1 pinch cinnamon
1 tablespoon honey
1/4 cup coconut milk (full fat)

The recipe on the website instructs you to mix all ingredients and let sit at least 5 minutes. (I let them sit longer and they seemed a bit better.) Pour pancakes onto a greased pan or skillet (I use coconut oil) over medium heat, and brown before flipping them. (Careful – these seem to brown quicker than normal pancakes.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mel permalink
    January 20, 2010 7:28 pm

    I know it’s been a while since this post, but hopefully you still receive and read this. I tried making coconut bread and while it smelled wonderful while baking and came out fluffy-looking (compared to almond flower at least) I didn’t like the texture when I ate it. Lemme just say that I’ve never liked coconut because of it’s texture and it’s never-ending chewyness. But I was hoping that something made with coconut flour wouldn’t have that texture. Is this to be expected of all things made with coconut flour or is it perhaps that my flour wasn’t fine enough? I purchased it online, I didn’t make it myself, but I’m sure there are grades of fineness even in store-bought brands.

    • Pajama Morning permalink*
      January 20, 2010 7:41 pm

      I like tropical traditions brand quite a bit. Some recipes work better with almond flour, and others are great with coconut. I often add a bit of extra liquid with the coconut flour, as it tends to be so dry. I haven’t been thrilled with all the recipes I’ve tried, I admit.
      I’m experimenting with muffins right now, trying to get an actual muffin consistency.

      Thanks for sharing! keep me posted on what you find that works/doesn’t work. I think we’re in the same boat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

