Skip to content

Portland Nursery Annual Apple Tasting

October 10, 2009

AppleTastingOct09 001

AppleTastingOct09 004

AppleTastingOct09 005

Our discerning food critic rates the apple varieties. Serious business.

Our discerning food critic rates the apple varieties. Serious business.

AppleTastingOct09 013

AppleTastingOct09 014

AppleTastingOct09 015

Portland Nursery held its 22nd annual free apple tasting today. The apple madness will be continuing on through this weekend and next. With over 57 varieties it kindof feels like a winery tour. Though I didn’t spit out my apple samples each time, I chose varieties I  was unfamiliar with, since I knew I couldn’t sample near that many. One of my favorites was the Mutsu; a sweet baking or sauce apple. Surprising, since I don’t usually like sweet apples, but it was crisp and not cloyingly sweet. My favorite pear was the Shinseiki asian pear. It reminds me of the asian pears from our childhood trees: white, sweet, firm, crisp and juicy. And of course, the f resh pressed cider. Mmmm… I love fall.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

