Skip to content

Beet Carrot Slaw Recipe

September 12, 2009

Carrot Beet SlawChioggia BeetsOnce again, we have been experimenting with beets and carrots;  two things that we tend to have a lot of every summer.  The summer I got pregnant we had been eating beets every night. We lived with our wonderful friend from India, Chinmayee, who cooked many nights, and incorporated whatever produce we had, which was primarily beets. I have fond memories of a sweltering apartment and lots of beet stir fries with rice….

This year my parents grew some Chioggia beets, these lovely red and white striped ones. They are quite striking, though they lose their vibrant colors once cooked. They are mild and delicious.

One of my favorite recent concoctions is beet/carrot slaw. Here’s the basic recipe. Simple, quick, healthy.

Carrot Beet Slaw Recipe

Toss Together:

  • Shredded beets and carrots
  • lemon or lime juice
  • Sea salt

Garnish With:

  • Avocados
  • Toasted pumpkin seeds, pistachios or sesame seeds. Or, my personal favorite quick and easy topping, Gomasio. (Gomasio, shown in the above salad image, is a blend of sea salt and roasted sesame seeds, used in Japan as a substitute for table salt. Its often available in health food stores or asian markets, though you can also make your own.)

voila!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nila permalink
    September 22, 2009 4:45 am

    Geez Becky, you’re so amazing. I think I’m witnessing the birth of a new Martha Stewart! With an emphasis on more wholesome, down to earth living, of course!

    I love beets too. I love shredded beats on any salad. . . my favorite is from a restaurant in the Seattle airport. . . Elliott’s? It is a green salad with lots of shredded beets on top tossed with a very light vinegret (can’t spell), with grapefruit slices and dungeness crab meat. Yummm!

  2. October 6, 2009 11:00 pm

    I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site. 🙂

Leave a Reply

