Skip to content

Cap Sleeve Sweater

August 17, 2009

I finished the sweater for Bennie yesterday! The pattern comes from Soulful Hues knitting, and the yarn is natural cormo wool from Elsa Sheep and Wool Company that Nila got at the Taos Fiber Festival. Itshandspun (thank goodness! it hides all my mistakes) and so incredibly soft.  She has enjoyed knitting next to me using my  needles and some multi-colored cotton yarn from her Nanna.  I was worried her sweater would be way too small, when I should have been worried about whether she would wear it or not. She wore it long enough for me to get a few pictures, then decided it was her dog’s sweater.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nila permalink
    August 22, 2009 8:23 pm

    What a gorgeous sweater (and baby Benecia)! She is certainly growing up and thank goodness the girl has a mind of her own!

    The Taos Wool Festival is October 3-4; here’s the website: http://www.taoswoolfestival.org/ and I’m going to be in Taos this year during that time! I’ll have to pick up more of this yarn because I found a gorgeous Alpaka Tunic pattern which uses a similar yarn (I think). The tunic calls for Schoppel Wolle Baby Alpaka Naturbelassen (skacel); singles; 9 wraps per inch (to substitute yarn for a project, you can compare wraps per inch. To do this, wrap your yarn around a ruler for one inch and count the number of wraps. If you have more wraps per inch, your yarn is too thin; fewer wraps per inch, your yarn is too thick. Here is the website for the women’s tunic: http://www.interweaveknits.com/preview/2009_fall.asp#Alpaka-Tunic

  2. Kit Lorraine permalink
    September 13, 2009 4:25 am

    I’d wear that sweater. Bennie is cute but crazy! And she’s looking more like you as she gets older. Aww!

Leave a Reply

